The Winners from the 2015 CFDA Fashion Awards


American fashion design came together in an evening of sophistication and style to celebrate its own tonight, as the Council of Fashion Designers of America (CFDA) paid tribute to honorees and bestowed accolades to the 2015 CFDA Fashion Awards winners.

The event held at Lincoln Center and sponsored by the house that knows a thing or two about stars, Swarovski, brought together the worlds of fashion, film, media, and music to honor the achievements of American fashion’s finest.

Betsey Johnson took to the red carpet with her youthful enthusiasm and flexible attribute, as she did the splits before receiving The Geoffrey Beene Lifetime Achievement Award for her creative influence on fashion, which certainly inspired more than a few Parisian runway shows of the last few seasons.

Fashion inspirationalist and the most influential merchant of our times, Millard “Mickey” Drexler, Chairman and CEO of J.Crew Group, Inc. was presented The Founders Award in honor of Eleanor Lambert by David Remnick of The New Yorker.

Kim Kardashian West was aptly on hand to present The Media Award to Kevin Systrom for Instagram, the first time a company was presented the award. And deservedly so – no technology since the sewing machine has had more of an impact on speeding up fashion sales.

The stunning and sublime work of  Valentino’s Maria Grazia Chiuri and Pierpaolo Piccioli was recognized with this year’s International Award, presented by Franca Sozzani of Vogue Italia and Valeria Golino.

This year’s nominees included many The Impression anticipates will be nominated again, as their work tends go down like a nice scotch and only gets better with age. We salute all involved and congratulate the winners.

Womenswear Designer of the Year | Ashley Olsen & Mary-Kate Olsen for The Row
Presented by Amanda Seyfried

Menswear Designer of the Year | Tom Ford 
Presented by Joshua Jackson

Accessory Designer of the Year | Tabitha Simmons
Presented by Taraji P. Henson

Tabitha Simmons by Steven Pan

Tabitha Simmons by Steven Pan

Swarovski Award for Womenswear | Rosie Assoulin
Presented by Gigi Hadid and Zachary Quinto

The Swarovski Award for Menswear | Shayne Oliver for Hood by Air
Presented by Gigi Hadid and Zachary Quinto

 The Swarovski Award for Accessory Design | Rachel Mansur and Floriana Gavriel for Mansur Gavriel
Presented by Gigi Hadid and Zachary Quinto