CNMI Sustainable Fashion Awards 2022

Ai Tominaga;Teddy Quinlivan;Kerry Kennedy;Teneshia Carr;Samanta Pattinson;Federica Marchionni

Camera Nazionale della Moda Italiana, in collaboration with the Ethical Fashion Initiative (EFI) of the United Nations, a program of the International Trade Center, and with the support of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs and International Cooperation, of the The ICE Agency and the Municipality of Milan organized the ceremony of the CNMI Sustainable Fashion Awards 2022 at the Teatro alla Scala in Milan. The event celebrated individuals committed to sustainability in its highest meaning, for vision, innovation, commitment to craftsmanship, recognition of differences, circular economy, human rights and environmental justice.

The evening began in Piazza Scala, set up for the occasion following the leitmotif of the Third Paradise by Maestro Michelangelo Pistoletto. The Third Paradise was chosen, for its meaning, as the symbol of the CNMI Sustainable Fashion Awards.

The awards ceremony was presented by Rossy De Palma who for the evening wore a Maison Valentino dress, from the Valentino Resort 2023 collection, embellished with a rose handmade in Valentino Atelier in Rome. With the purpose of giving new life to unused-materials, the red roses were created with recycled fabrics belonging to the Valentino Atelier, thus elevating Piccioli’s ideal that quality is synonymous with circularity.

The winners received a reproduction of the Venere degli Stracci, an iconic work of 20th century art, made with 3D printing and customized by hand by Maestro Pistoletto with unique colors for each reproduction, thus making each piece absolutely exclusive.

Venere degli Stracci by Michelangelo Pistoletto

Feeling responsible for the future of our land must not be a slogan, but must become part of our way of life. This is the purpose of the SFA and its founding partners Giorgio Armani, Gucci, Prada, Valentino who on this occasion presented existing pieces that underline the concept of durability. The four brands message is that great challenges can only be won by working together in which we are all involved.

During the evening, 14 prizes and 2 special mentions were awarded.

1. The Oceans: Sea Beyond Award by Prada Group – Kiara Nirghin awards Patrizio Bertelli

2. The Climate Action Award: La Soledad x Gucci- Bethann Hardison awards Marco Bizzarri and Gabriela Bordabehere

3. The Social Impact Award: ARA Lumiere-Indya Moore awards Kulsum Shadab Wamab and Survivors

4. The Groundbreaker Award: Grounded Indigo by Albini Next and Stoney Creek Colors – Exster Esposito awards Stefano Albini and Sarah Bellos

5. The Human Rights Award: Dr. Rubana Huq- Pierpaolo Piccioli awards Rubana Huq

6. The Bicester Collection Award for Emerging Designers: NKWO- Olivia Palermo, Johannes Huebl, Desirée Bollier awards Nkwo Unkwa

7. The Philantrophy & Society Award: OTB Foundation- Ghali awards Arianna Alessi and Renzo Rosso

8. The Ellen MacArthur Foundation Award for Circular Economy: Timberloop Treccker by Timberland- Andrew Morlet and Toni Garrn award Mariano Alonso and Nick Barber

9. The Pioneer Award: Eileen Fisher- Jon Kortajarena honors Eileen Fisher

10. The Equity and Inclusivity Award

11. The Biodiversity Conservation Award: Oasi Zegna – Teddy Quinlivan awards Ermenegildo Zegna

12. The Craft & Italian Artisanship Award: Bottega for Bottegas by Bottega Veneta – Simone Marchetti awards Leo Rongone

13. The Woolmark Company Award for Innovation: Sease – Isabeli Fontana, Stuart McCullough awards Franco and Giacomo Loro Piana

14. The Visionary Award: Giorgio Armani

Two special mentions were also awarded:

To Adut Akech, delivered by Samata Pattinson, for being the South Sudanese model who made the history of the fashion industry on inclusion

To Ratti – Giving hope – a special mention delivered by Simone Cipriani, Dakore Egbuson-Akande and Sergio Tamborini

THE JURY Ai Tominaga, Michelangelo Pistoletto, Teddy Quinlivan, Samantha Pattinson, Federica Marchionni, Paola Deda, Teneshia Carr, Simone Cipriani, Carlo Capasa, Ellen MacArthur