The British Fashion Council Announces The Nominees For 2022 Fashion Awards


The BFC Has Announced The Nominees For The 2022 Fashion Awards

The British Fashion Council (BFC) has announced the nominees for The Fashion Awards 2022 which will take place Monday 5th December 2022, returning to The Royal Albert Hall. The event celebrates the role of fashion in self-expression, escapism, and optimism and its positioning at the intersection of culture. The night is an opportunity for the creative community to come together to acknowledge positive change within the industry and those leading it. Award categories announced today include Designer of the Year, Model of the Year, Independent British Brand, and the BFC Foundation Award – the winners of which will be revealed on the night. Over 1000 key members of the international fashion industry were called upon to vote for this year’s global accolades, defining the final nominees, winners, and Leaders of Change.

The Fashion Awards 2022 Nominees are (all listed in alphabetical order)

Designer of the Year

Recognizes a British or international designer whose innovative collections have made a notable impact on the industry, defining the shape of global fashion.

Model of the Year

Recognizes the global impact of a model who over the last 12 months has dominated the industry, with an influence that transcends the catwalk.

Independent British Brand

Recognizes a British designer who, while running an independent business over the last 12 months, has had a notable impact on the industry by optimising what creativity and innovation really mean.

BFC Foundation Award

Recognizes an emerging designer, from those receiving support from the BFC Foundation in this year, who over the last 12 months has had a major creative impact on global fashion. This includes the NEWGEN recipients, the BFC/Vogue Designer Fashion Fund winner and shortlist, the BFC/GQ Designer Fashion Fun winner and shortlist and the BFC Fashion Trust recipients.

I would like to congratulate all the nominees of The Fashion Awards 2022. Each one of them contributes a remarkable amount towards creating an industry that promotes self-expression and individuality, perpetuates joy and optimism and pioneers in innovation and positive change. I look forward to celebrating the incredible work of our nominees, Leaders of Change, Award winners and the wider industry on 5th December.

– Caroline Rush, Chief Executive BFC

The 2022 accolades also include fifteen Leaders of Change, the designers, brands, creatives, and individuals who created positive change within the fashion industry this past year under three categories: Environment, People, and Creativity. These will be revealed live during the show. Other awards include the Isabella Blow Award for Fashion Creator and the Outstanding Achievement Award. Jefferson Hack will receive a Special Recognition Award for Cultural Curation for empowering youth through creativity and for creating countless opportunities for next-generation creatives. Additionally, the event will recognize 50 of the most innovative and inspiring young creative talent worldwide as part of NEW WAVE: Creatives.