CFDA Awards

CFDA 2023 Fashion Awards Winners

The 2023 CFDA 2023 Fashion Awards Winners

At the pinnacle of American fashion excellence, the CFDA commemorated its 61st year by honoring the luminaries of the industry.

The Council of Fashion Designers of America, over six decades of sartorial innovation, has proudly announced the honorees of the 2023 CFDA Fashion Awards. The nominations, a reflection of consistent prowess, saw a close resemblance to the previous year, with a minor shuffle in the lineup for the most coveted awards in Womenswear and Menswear.

This year, the evening shone a spotlight on Catherine Holstein for Khaite, celebrating her second consecutive triumph as the American Womenswear Designer of the Year. Willy Chavarria clinched the title of American Menswear Designer of the Year, signaling a shift in the menswear narrative.

Rising talent Rachel Scott for Diotima was lauded as the American Emerging Designer of the Year, a nod to the burgeoning new voices shaping the fashion landscape. In the realm of accessories, Ashley Olsen and Mary-Kate Olsen for The Row garnered the American Accessories Designer of the Year, solidifying their status as arbiters of accessory design.

The event, attended by illustrious CFDA members and fashion icons, was a testament to the enduring legacy and dynamic future of American fashion. With awards spanning from lifetime achievements to the celebration of emerging innovation, the CFDA Fashion Awards underscored the multifaceted talent that American fashion continues to offer to the global stage.

The Impression celebrates this year’s victors & nominees, recognizing the exceptional craftsmanship and vision that define American fashion excellence.

American Womenswear
Designer of the Year Winner

Catherine Holstein for Khaite

Joseph Altuzarra for Altuzarra
Christopher John Rogers
Raul Lopez for LUAR
Tory Burch

American Menswear
Designer of the Year Winner

Willy Chavarria

 Mike Amiri for AMIRI
Colm Dillane for KidSuper
Teddy von Ranson for Teddy Vonranso
Thom Browne for Thom Browne New York

Shop with Google
American Emerging Designer
of the Year Winner

Rachel Scott for Diotima

Bach Mai
Connor McKnight
Tanner Richie and Fletcher Kasell for Tanner Fletcher
Carly Mark for Puppets And Puppets

The American Accessories Designer
of the Year Winner

Ashley Olsen and Mary-Kate Olsen for The Row

Ana Khouri
Brandon Blackwood
Stuart Vevers for Coach
Raul Lopez for LUAR

The International Designer of the Year

Jonathan Anderson for JW Anderson and Loewe

The Board of Director’s Tribute

Vera Wang

The Founder’s Award in honor of Eleanor Lamber

 Domenico De Sole

The Media Award in honor of Eugenia Sheppard

Alina Cho

Geoffrey Beene Lifetime Achievement Award

Maria Cornejo

Environmental Sustainability Award

Mara Hoffman