CFDA Announces 2020 Fashion Awards Nominees

The Council of Fashion Designers of America has announced the nominees for the 2020 CFDA Fashion Awards.

Originally scheduled for Monday, June 8th, the in-person event was indefinitely postponed due to the COVID-19 outbreak. The winners will now be announced on and CFDA’s social channels Monday morning, September 14th, kicking off the Official New York Fashion Week Schedule. This season includes two new international awards, The Global Women’s Designer of the Year Award, and The Global Women’s Designer of the Year Award a smart move for the organization to broaden the reach of the traditionally American showcase.

“In this time of unprecedented challenge and change for our industry, we feel very strongly that it is it important to recognize the nominees representing the best of fashion creativity… We look forward to returning to an in-person celebration honoring the American fashion industry in 2021.”

-Tom Ford, Chairman of the CFDA

 “In lieu of the in-person event, we will be prioritizing new and existing programming to support our designer community during the global pandemic – by redirecting efforts towards next generation scholarships and making important changes to bring racial equity to the fashion industry… The annual gala serves as our largest fundraiser, and our hope is to continue raising money to support this work through industry contributions.” 

-Steven Kolb, President and CEO of the CFDA.

The Impression wished to congratulate all the nominees and wish them a prosperous award season.

American Womenswear
Designer of the Year Nominees

Ashley Olsen and Mary-Kate Olsen for The Row
Brandon Maxwell
Gabriela Hearst
Marc Jacobs
Tom Ford

American Menswear
Designer of the Year Nominees

 Emily Adams Bode for Bode
Kerby Jean-Raymond for
 Pyer Moss
Thom Browne
Todd Snyder 
Tom Ford

American Emerging Designer
of the Year

Christopher John Rogers
Kenneth Nicholson
Peter Do
Reese Cooper
Sarah Staudinger and George Augusto for Staud

The American Accessories Designer
of the Year nominees

Ashley Olsen and Mary-Kate Olsen for The Row
Gabriela Hearst
Jennifer Fisher for Jennifer Fisher Jewelry
Stuart Vevers for Coach
Telfar Clemens for Telfar

The Global Women’s
Designer of the Year Nominees

Daniel Lee for Bottega Veneta
Dries Van Noten
Miuccia Prada for Prada
Pierpaolo Piccioli for Valentino
Rick Owens

The Global Men’s
Designer of the Year Nominees

Craig Green
Dries Van Noten
Jonathan Anderson for Loewe
Kim Jones for Dior
Virgil Abloh for Louis Vuitton

Stay up to date on news, analysis, real-time runway coverage, campaigns, trends, store design and more. Join our newsletter today.

Newsletter sent Mon - Fri 1:30 AM EST