The CFDA Announces 2021 Fashion Awards Nominees

The Council of Fashion Designers of America has announced the nominees and honorees for the 2021 CFDA Fashion Awards. 

Nominations for each award category were submitted by the CFDA Fashion Awards Guild, made up of members of the CFDA, along with top fashion retailers, journalists, and stylists. 

The 2021 CFDA Fashion Awards will take place on Wednesday, November 10th, at THE POOL + THE GRILL, the iconic venue housed within the landmark Seagram Building on Park Avenue. The event marks a return to an in-person format after the 2020 CFDA Fashion Awards were held digitally via CFDA’s RUNWAY360 platform. 

 The 2021 CFDA Fashion Awards mark the much-anticipated in-person return to our biggest fundraiser for CFDA’s scholarship programs. We’re also incredibly pleased to see several talented names among the nominees for the first time. American fashion is experiencing a renewed energy, and these designers play a significant role in the future trajectory of our industry.” 

-Steven Kolb, President and CEO of the CFDA.

 The 2021 CFDA Fashion Awards will be produced in accordance with CDC and New York State Health Guidelines. 

The Impression wishes to congratulate all the nominees and wish them a prosperous award season.

American Womenswear
Designer of the Year Nominees

 Catherine Holstein for KHAITE
Christopher John Rogers
Gabriela Hearst
Marc Jacobs
Peter Do 

American Menswear
Designer of the Year Nominees

  Emily Adams Bode for BODE
Jerry Lorenzo for Fear of God
Mike Amiri for AMIRI
Telfar Clemens for Telfar
Thom Browne

American Emerging Designer
of the Year

 Edvin Thompson for Theophilio
Eli Russell Linnetz for ERL
Jameel Mohammed for KHIRY
Kenneth Nicholson
Maisie Schloss for Maisie Wilen 

The American Accessories Designer
of the Year nominees

Ashley Olsen and Mary-Kate Olsen for The Row
 Aurora James for Brother Vellies

Gabriela Hearst
Stuart Vevers for Coach
Telfar Clemens for Telfar 

The Global International  Women’s
Designer of the Year Nominees

 Daniel Lee for Bottega Veneta
Demna Gvasalia for Balenciaga
Miuccia Prada and Raf Simons for Prada
Pierpaolo Piccioli for Valentino
Simon Porte Jacquemus for Jacquemus

The  International Men’s
Designer of the Year Nominees

 Daniel Lee for Bottega Veneta
Dries Van Noten
Grace Wales Bonner for Wales Bonner
Rick Owens
Virgil Abloh for Louis Vuitton

The Founder’s Award in honor of Eleanor Lambert is awarded to Aurora James for the 15 Percent Pledge. 

The Environmental Sustainability Award will be given to Patagonia. 

The Media Award in honor of Eugenia Sheppard will be presented to Nina Garcia. 

The Geoffrey Beene Lifetime Achievement Award goes to Dapper Dan. 

Yeohlee Teng will receive the Board of Directors’ Tribute. 

Additional Awards will be announced in the coming weeks.