2021 International Woolmark Prize Finalist Have Been Unveiled

Industry Experts Select Six 2021 The Woolmark Prize Finalists

Six emerging fashion designers have been named the as the ones-to-watch for their innovative designs by a The 2021 International Woolmark Prize Advisory Council that Naomi Campbell, fashion critic Sarah Mower and Business of Fashion Editor-at-Large Tim Blanks.

The International Woolmark Prize 2021, with this year’s theme as “less is more,” selected finalists that showcased a commitment to upholding the prize’s pillars of product excellence, innovation, supply-chain transparency, sustainability and inclusivity. Its advisory council has honored British designers Bethany Williams and Matty Bovan, French-Morrocan menswear label Casablanca, Nigerian designer Kenneth Ize, French Canadian label Lecavalier, and South African designer Thebe Magugu.

The six follow on the heels of The International Woolmark Prize 2020 winners Richard Malone and Emily Adams Bode’s ‘Bode’ label.

It is my pleasure to support the International Woolmark Prize. Now more so than ever, in these incredibly challenging times for our industry, we must continue to support and nurture the emerging voices in fashion design. They are the future, and I look forward to seeing what creative and innovative work comes out of this year’s entries to push our industry’s ongoing mission in diversity and sustainability.

– Naomi Campbell

In 2021, the six finalists will present a Merino wool collection highlighting transparency throughout their supply chain with NFC technology from partner Blue Bite and a Common Objective sustainability roadmap. The 2021 theme “less is more” will celebrate slow and responsibly produced fashion and craftsmanship, the cornerstones of emerging designer businesses. Each Merino wool garment will tell a story and shine light on the supply chain.

One finalist will be awarded the International Woolmark Prize by a prestigious panel of industry experts and receive AU$200,000 to invest in the development of their business. The Karl Lagerfeld Award for Innovation will be presented once again and can be awarded to the International Woolmark Prize winner or a finalist, with the winner receiving AU$100,000. This year will also see the introduction of the Woolmark Supply Chain Award, celebrating outstanding contribution from a trade partner to drive awareness for wool supply chain innovation.

All finalists will have the opportunity to be stocked in some of the world’s leading stores, via the International Woolmark Prize Retailer Network.

This year The 2021 International Woolmark Prize Advisory Council included:

  • Naomi Campbell, Model, Activist, Businesswoman
  • Alison Veness, Editor, 10 Magazine and 10 Men in Australia and Vogue Visual Director, Vogue Australia
  • Carlos Nazario, Stylist & Fashion Director, i-D
  • Chizuru Muko, Editor-in-Chief, WWD Japan
  • Christiane Arp, Editor-in-Chief, Vogue Germany
  • Floriane de Saint Pierre, founder of Floriane de Saint Pierre & Associes and EYES on TALENTS
  • Gabriella Karefa-Johnson, Stylist & Fashion Director, Garage Magazine
  • Holli Rogers, Chief Executive Officer, Browns & Chief Brand Officer, Farfetch
  • Laura Brown, Editor-in-Chief, InStyle
  • Livia Firth, Founder, Eco Age
  • Manish Arora, Designer
  • Shaway Yeh, Founder YehYehYeh and Group Style Editorial Director Modern Media Group
  • Sara Sozzani Maino, Head of Vogue Talents, Deputy Director Vogue Italia & Int Brand Ambassador Camera Nazionale della Moda
  • Sarah Mower, Fashion Critic
  • Sinéad Burke, Educator and Advocate
  • Tim Blanks, Editor-at-Large, Business of Fashion