LVMH Prize Announces 2023 Semi-Finalists

The Prestigious Fashion Prize Has Shared The Names of 22 International Brands and Designers Selected for the Semi-Final Round

The LVMH Prize has announced its semi-finalists for 2023. Among the 22 finalists are Milan’s Magliano and New York’s Luar, alongside the lesser-known (thus far) names of other emerging designers and brands from around the world.

Later this year, the jury will announce its finalists – typically there have been eight – before naming the Prize’s winner. Last year British designer S.S. Daley received the honor, while previous winners have gone on to become some of the most influential young designers of the last decade, including Jacquemus, Wales Bonner, Marine Serre, Peter Do, Chopova Lowena, Hed Mayner, and more.

“When we launched the Prize, the idea was to help highlight tomorrow’s talents. After the last 10 years, it has enabled hundreds, if not thousands of young designers to develop their creativity and careers.”

– Delphine Arnault, CEO of Christian Dior

The Prize has seen some changes over the past few years, many of them induced by a need to react to the pandemic. In 2020, it awarded all eight finalists rather than naming winners, and, in 2021, it introduced public voting online.

Arnault shared that there were over 2,400 candidates this year – a significant increase over last year’s 1,900. This year’s semi-finalists hail from all over the world, including Ukraine, Brazil, Estonia, and Jamaica. In the running are three menswear-focused designers, eight womenswear designers, and 11 designers who present their work either as a combination of menswear and genderless or genderless only.

The full list of semi-finalists for the 2023 LVMH prize consists of:

Aaron Esh, menswear brand designed by Aaron Esh from the United Kingdom. 

Anne Isabella, womenswear brand designed by Anne Isabella Rasmussen from France. 

Bettter, womenswear brand designed by Julie Pelipas from Ukraine. 

Bloke, genderless brand designed by Faith Oluwajimi from Nigeria. 

Burc Akyol, genderless brand designed by Burc Akyol from France. 

Charlie Constantinou, menswear and genderless brand designed by Charlie Constantinou from the United Kingdom. 

Diotima, womenswear brand designed by Rachel Scott from Jamaica. 

Joao Maraschin, womenswear brand designed by Joao Maraschin from Brazil. 

Johanna Parv, womenswear brand designed by Johanna Parv from Estonia. 

Juntae Kim, genderless brand designed by Juntae Kim from South Korea. 

Karu, menswear brand designed by Kartik Kumra from India. 

Kusikohc, genderless brand designed by Cho Giseok from South Korea. 

Louis Shengtao Chen, womenswear brand designed by Louis Shengtao Chen from China. 

Luar, womenswear, menswear, and genderless brand designed by Raul Lopez from the United States. 

Magliano, menswear and genderless brand designed by Luca Magliano from Italy. 

Marrknull, menswear brand designed by Wei Wang Tian Shi from China. 

Namesake, menswear brand designed by Steve Hsieh, Michael Hsieh, and Richard Hsieh from Taiwan. 

Paolina Russo, womenswear brand designed by Paolina Russo and Lucile Guilmard from Canada. 

Quira, womenswear brand designed by Veronica Leoni from Italy. 

Setchu, genderless brand designed by Satoshi Kuwata from Japan. 

Stinarand, genderless brand designed by Stina Randestad from Sweden. 

Wataru Tominaga, genderless brand designed by Wataru Tominaga from Japan.