Parsons School of Design 67th Annual Fashion Event

By Kenneth Richard | The Impressionist

New York fashion notables gathered to celebrate Parsons as well as alumnus Marc Jacobs and LVMH Moët Hennessy Louis Vuitton at the 2015 Parsons Fashion Benefit held at the River Pavilion at the Jacob K. Javits Center in New York.

The annual event functions both as a showcase for graduating fashion design talent, who showed their final collections, as well as a fundraiser for Parsons Scholarships. Kay Unger, member of the Parsons Board of Governors, announced to the 940 guests in attendance that the benefit had raised more than $1.7 million.

Vogue’s Anna Wintour helped the school pay tribute to iconic alumnus Marc Jacobs while The New York Times’ Vanessa Friedman delivered a keynote address.Anna Wintour Vanessa Friedman Kay UngerMaxwell Osborne Marc Jacobs Burak Cakmak

Marc Jacobs is a visionary. Through his unparalleled collections and brilliant design, Marc has long been a source of inspiration for generations of Parsons students and, indeed, the entire fashion industry. We are proud to honor him today as the exceptional leader in the industry that he is and also as an alum.

Parsons Executive Dean Joel Towers

The event also marked a changing of the guard for Simon Collins, who gained industry wide respect as the previous Dean of Fashion at Parsons for the last six years. Collins is passing the torch to the freshly named Dean of Fashion, Burak Cakmak, who was also on hand for the event and will take full reigns in August.Marc Jacobs, Anna Wintour, Robert Duffy, Lorenzo Martone simon collins

Collins remains as Parsons Creative Advisor and member of the Board of Governors, and along with Marc Jacobs, announced the 2015 Designer of the Year awards, an honor previously bestowed upon Jacobs himself in his graduating year in 1984. This year’s recipients are:

Womenswear Designer of the Year Lucy Jones
Menswear Designers of the Year Jon Max Goh and Sungho Kim
Childrenswear Designer of the Year Jennifer Lia Kim
Accessories Designers of the Year Steffi Tsz Wing Lau

The Impression wishes to congratulate the winning designers as well as the school and invites you to stay tuned as we expect to see more of the winning students soon.

Marc Jacobs Anna Wintour Julie Gilhart